My thoughts and questions so far

Since starting University, I have realised how much my outlook in my future has changed.  I have discovered it’s not just about making a choice on a career and that’s it, I have decided what I want to be!  On the contrary, if this course has taught me anything so far, is that there is a lot more to that.  Since then, I have began asking myself questions such as:

Which pathway do I wish to pursue?

What is it that interests/motivates/moves me?

What is the social/political movement behind a particular movement behind certain movements?  And why?

Will I be in employment when I graduate?

Would I like to go back to higher education later for a Masters Degree and maybe later, a PhD?

These days, I seem to be asking myself more and more questions than I used to do, whether it is about my future, or just wishing to seek more knowledge.

However, I do seem to have found some aims in life.  My key aim on this was to expand my horizons in design and I was asking questions such:

  • What takes my interest in design?
  • Am I able to find a career of interest?
  • Is there anything else I am good at or enjoy doing in design?
  • Do I have any other skills that I can pursue in design?

I like to set myself a challenge, to find if there any new skills that I could possibly go into a career.  Personally, I like a challenge, as this does motivate me, I then start asking myself questions that are relevant and I usually end up finding the answer that could help me progress into something further.  I could find that there there is something I like to do, other times, I may find that a particular aspect of design isn’t something of my interest, or it could be of interest, but I would rather leave as an interest.

About matttheforth

I am a Design Student currently studying at Leeds Metropolitan University. Previously, I was at Harrogate College studying National Diploma in Graphic Design. Some people do ask why I haven't stuck with Graphic Design at University. The reason for this, is because I do have an interest and good knowledge on a wide range in design and I wish to find myself on this course over the three years and hopefully pursue a career.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

